ONAIR from Germany @ Tampere Vocal Music Festival 2015 c Maarit Kytöharju

Thu 23 Feb 2017

Finalists selected for the international Contest for Vocal Ensembles

Out of the 25 entrants in this year’s Contest for Vocal Ensembles at the Tampere Vocal Music Festival, 12 were selected for the final round on the basis of audition recordings. Last time, in the year 2015, the winner of the Contest was ONAIR from Germany. As always, also this year the Contest lives up to its international reputation, with participating ensembles from eight countries besides Finland.

The Contest is divided into two categories, acoustic and amplified. The ensembles in the acoustic category are: Ilo Ensemble (Helsinki, Finland), KOR (Cagliari, Italy), Latvian Voices (Riga, Latvia), Må Pyton (Jyväskylä, Finland), SINE NOMINE (Bogota, Colombia) and Vocal group Maneo (Viljandi, Estonia). The ensembles in the amplified category are: Ardú Vocal Ensemble (Dublin, Ireland), Jazzva (Ljubljana, Slovenia), Quintense (Leipzig, Germany), SKETY (Prague, Czech Republic), Soul Sisters (Porvoo/Helsinki, Finland) and Stagement (Helsinki, Finland). The Contest will be held in the Small Auditorium at Tampere Hall on 7–8 June 2017.

The jury of the Contest is likewise international: chaired by Jussi Chydenius (FI), its other members are Katarina Henryson (SE), Karoliina Kantelinen (FI), Michael McGlynn (IE) and Paul Phoenix (GB). Admission is free for the final round of the Contest on Wednesday 7 June. The concluding concert on Thursday 8 June will feature ensembles selected by the jury. The concert ends with the prize ceremony.

Updated 2 May: The vocal group vodeon from Munich, Germany, was originally selected for the final round of the Contest for Vocal Ensembles, but it has cancelled. The vocal group Må Pyton from Jyväskylä, Finland, will attend the contest instead.