The Grand Prix winner in 2017 was Quintense from Germany.

Out of the 18 entrants from eight countries in this year’s Contest for Vocal Ensembles at the Tampere Vocal Music Festival, 12 were selected for the final round on the basis of audition recordings.

The Contest is divided into two categories, acoustic and amplified. The ensembles in the acoustic category are: Aba Taano (Uganda), Ensemble Nobiles (Germany), Lumoa (Finland) and Spread Voice (Germany).

The ensembles in the amplified category are: A Capella Boğaziçi (Turkey), inTones (Finland), Johan & Juristerna (Finland), Kuvaja (Finland), Of Cabbages and Kings (Germany), Sine Nomine (Colombia), Sønk (Denmark) and Äänirajoilla (Finland).

The Contest will be held on 5–6 June 2019 in the Small Auditorium at Tampere Hall. The jury of the Contest is Jussi Chydenius (chairperson, Finland), Sara Brimer Davey (The United States), Karoliina Kantelinen (Finland), Michael McGlynn (Ireland) and Paul Phoenix (The United Kingdom).

Admission is free for the final round of the Contest on Wednesday 5 June. The concluding concert on Thursday 6 June will feature ensembles selected by the jury. The concert ends with the prize ceremony.

The Contest for Vocal Ensembles, founded by the city of Tampere and Kalle Kaihari Cultural Foundation, celebrates its 30th anniversary this year. Contest for Vocal Ensembles 30th anniversary exhibition illustrates the colourful history of the Contest for Vocal Ensembles. The exhibition opens on 5 June at 6 PM and is open for the duration of the festival.