Lotta Wennäkoski: Flounce (2017)
Esa-Pekka Salonen: Violin Concerto (2009)
Kimmo Kuokkala: Industrialis (2018) (first performance) (commissioned by Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra)
John Adams: Doctor Atomic Symphony (2007)

Lawrence Renes, cond.
Jennifer Koh, violin

Under Dutch-Maltese conductor Lawrence Renes, the Tampere Filharmonia serves up fresh Finnish orchestral music and landmark classical works from the 2000s.

The evening opens with the uproarious Flounce by Lotta Wennäkoski, premiered at the BBC Proms in London last year.

Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Violin Concerto (2009) is performed by top violinist Jennifer Koh from the USA, who returns to Tampere following her dazzling performance in Kaija Saariaho’s Violin Concerto in spring 2017.

The world premiere on the programme is Industrialis by Kimmo Kuokkala, a twisted ascetic look at industrialisation whose bleak structure and ‘ruins aesthetic’ is made up of three elements:

1) Glass crystals – Desert
2) Rock – Delvers of sapphire cores
3) Rust – Blood

The concert concludes with the Doctor Atomic Symphony by American minimalist John Adams, adapted from the material of his opera Doctor Atomic (2007). The opera is set in the final hours before the detonation of the world’s first atomic bomb on the Alamogordo test range in New Mexico in 1945.

The concert is produced by Tampere Filharmonia.
Tickets: Tampere Hall box office or